Foundation and Access student counts by institution in Ireland
Original Higher Education Authority (HEA) statistics hosted by Ireland's Central Statistics Office, dataset HEA03. These are historical student counts, not current course availability or admissions capacity. Institution names and codes follow this dataset's historical reporting scope; they do not establish current registration or reconstruct institution mergers.
The source reports academic years 2016 - 2017 through 2022 - 2023. Programme types retain their source codes and qualification scope; no type is mapped to CIP or treated as a currently available course. All Programme Types is an aggregate: do not add it to individual programmes. Missing values are shown as Not reported and remain distinct from a reported zero. No missing value is inferred as zero, and no admission or graduation rates are calculated.
Contains Irish Government Data from HEA/CSO licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International licence. Official dataset and licence / Reuse framework. Tables are reformatted by CollegeVerse; the source does not endorse this site. Observed 2026-10-20.
| Academic year | Institution (source code) | Programme (source code) | Students |
|---|---|---|---|
| 2022 - 2023 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 105 |
| 2022 - 2023 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | 45 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 80 |
| 2022 - 2023 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 15 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 65 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2022 - 2023 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 115 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 25 |
| 2022 - 2023 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 110 |
| 2021 - 2022 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 15 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 60 |
| 2021 - 2022 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | 10 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 85 |
| 2021 - 2022 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 30 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 15 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 105 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2021 - 2022 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 85 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 25 |
| 2021 - 2022 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 100 |
| 2020 - 2021 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 95 |
| 2020 - 2021 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 140 |
| 2020 - 2021 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 40 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 15 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 5 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2020 - 2021 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 105 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2020 - 2021 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 135 |
| 2019 - 2020 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 230 |
| 2019 - 2020 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | 25 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 170 |
| 2019 - 2020 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 40 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 40 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 5 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 75 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2019 - 2020 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 60 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2019 - 2020 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 130 |
| 2018 - 2019 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 205 |
| 2018 - 2019 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 170 |
| 2018 - 2019 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 75 |
| 2018 - 2019 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 40 |
| 2018 - 2019 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 15 |
| 2018 - 2019 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 30 |
| 2018 - 2019 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2018 - 2019 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 65 |
| 2018 - 2019 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2018 - 2019 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 95 |
| 2017 - 2018 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 105 |
| 2017 - 2018 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | 15 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 165 |
| 2017 - 2018 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 80 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 45 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 25 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 100 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2017 - 2018 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 60 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 30 |
| 2017 - 2018 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 90 |
| 2016 - 2017 | National College of Art and Design (AD) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | St. Angela's College of Home Economics (AS) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | Atlantic Technological University (AT) | Foundation and Access (01) | 135 |
| 2016 - 2017 | University College Cork (CK) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | Dublin City University (DC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | Dundalk IT (DK) | Foundation and Access (01) | 25 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Dun Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology (DL) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | University College Dublin (DN) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | University of Galway (GY) | Foundation and Access (01) | 160 |
| 2016 - 2017 | University of Limerick (LM) | Foundation and Access (01) | 85 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Maynooth University (MH) | Foundation and Access (01) | 30 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Mary Immaculate College (MI) | Foundation and Access (01) | 20 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Munster Technological University (MU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 85 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Royal College of Surgeons (RC) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | South East Technological University (SE) | Foundation and Access (01) | Not reported |
| 2016 - 2017 | Trinity College Dublin (TR) | Foundation and Access (01) | 55 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Technological University of the Shannon (TS) | Foundation and Access (01) | 30 |
| 2016 - 2017 | Technological University Dublin (TU) | Foundation and Access (01) | 110 |