cvCollegeVerse.
English ⌄
Interface languageLanguage
Source text keeps its original language.

Worcester, MA

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

View comparison (0) →

Worcester Polytechnic Institute is a private nonprofit institution located in Worcester, MA. Use its official resources to confirm whether its programs match your study plans.

Institution at a glance

Location
Worcester, MA
Institution type
Private nonprofit
Institution level
Four-year
IPEDS institution ID
168421
Directory data year
2025

Plan your next step

Check the institution’s current course list, applicant categories, fees and deadlines before building your shortlist.

Official institution website ↗

Official admissions resources ↗

Build a budget from this cost record →

How to compare your full study budget →

Prepare your application checklist →

Published undergraduate tuition and fees

Full-time, first-time undergraduate charge basis · Academic year 2024-25 · US dollars · tuition and required fees, not total cost of attendance.

In-state$60,965
Out-of-state$60,965
Books and supplies$1,200

State residency rules determine eligibility. Out-of-state charges are not a verified international-student quote. Housing, meals, insurance, travel and other expenses are additional; aid is not deducted.

Academic yearIn-stateOut-of-stateBooks
2024-25$60,965$60,965$1,200
2023-24$59,070$59,070$1,200
2022-23$57,096$57,096$1,200
2021-22$55,731$55,731$1,200
2020-21$54,416$54,416$1,200
2019-20$52,320$52,320$1,000
2018-19$50,530$50,530$1,000
2017-18$48,628$48,628$1,000
2016-17$46,994$46,994$1,000

Change from the previous academic year

In-state tuition and fees: increased by $1,895 (3.2%), compared with 2023-24.

Out-of-state tuition and fees: increased by $1,895 (3.2%), compared with 2023-24.

This compares published tuition and required fees in adjacent reporting years. It does not measure changes in your aid package, net price or full living budget.

Source fields and reporting flags

books: CHG4AY3 · flag R
in_state: CHG2AY3 · flag R
out_of_state: CHG3AY3 · flag R

Source: IPEDS published cost dataset. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reported, imputed and carried-forward values retain their source flags. Read our data methodology →

Historical undergraduate admissions

Fall 2024 · first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduate applicants.

Applicants12,559
Admitted7,555
Admission rate60.2%

Reported enrolled first-time undergraduates: 1,366.

Compare reported admission years

These first-time undergraduate populations are separate reporting periods. Admission rate is admitted ÷ applicants; enrollment yield is enrolled ÷ admitted. Neither percentage is an individual admission probability.

Fall yearApplicantsAdmittedEnrolledAdmission rateEnrollment yield
202412,5597,5551,36660.2%18.1%
202311,8096,9081,36058.5%19.7%
202211,5996,6671,35457.5%20.3%
202111,0926,6791,41060.2%21.1%
202011,2696,6541,29459.0%19.4%
201910,6455,2551,19949.4%22.8%
201810,5844,4021,27641.6%29.0%

Calculated as admitted ÷ applicants. This institution-wide historical figure is not a personal admission probability, international-student rate, transfer rate or program-specific rate. Open-admission institutions may not report this survey.

Source: IPEDS ADM2024. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Verify current test policies with the institution.

Fields with reported graduates

Historical IPEDS completions, first major. Reporting years are labeled per record. Verify current program availability and degree names on the institution’s website.

Field of studyAward levelYear endingCompletions
Computer Science.Bachelor degree2025269
Mechanical Engineering.Bachelor degree2025222
Bioengineering and Biomedical Engineering.Bachelor degree2025134
Computer Science.Master degree2025122
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering.Master degree202599
Electrical and Electronics Engineering.Bachelor degree202583
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering.Bachelor degree202572
Mechanical Engineering.Master degree202570
Aerospace, Aeronautical, and Astronautical/Space Engineering, General.Bachelor degree202568
Mathematics and Computer Science.Master degree202167
Data Science, General.Master degree202565
Electrical and Electronics Engineering.Master degree202557
Chemical Engineering.Bachelor degree202555
Civil Engineering, General.Bachelor degree202549
Systems Engineering.Master degree202548

Showing 15 of 137 reported field/award records. View all records →

Published first-year retention

Connected EF part-D observations concern prior-fall first-time degree/certificate-seeking cohorts assessed a year later. NCES describes persistence or completion; four-year institutions' cohorts are bachelor-seeking. Entry study status remains the grouping even if a student later changes between full- and part-time.

Entry cohort → assessmentFull-time source rateAdjusted full-time cohortPart-time source rateAdjusted part-time cohort
Fall 2023 → 202494% · R1,35767% · R3
Fall 2022 → 202394% · R1,354Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2021 → 202291% · R1,409Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2020 → 202194% · R1,294Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2019 → 202095% · R1,199Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2018 → 201995% · R1,276Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2017 → 201896% · R1,124Not reported · ANot reported

Percentages are retained from the source rather than recalculated. R means reported; P means carried forward. Other source flags remain in the evidence. Missing rates remain unavailable and a published 0% remains zero. These are institution-level historical observations, not programme graduation rates, current service-quality rankings or individual predictions.

Official EF2024D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2024. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2024 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1357

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1271

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 94.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 3

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 2

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 67.0

Official EF2023D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2023. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2023 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1354

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1269

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 94.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2022D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2022. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2022 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1409

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1289

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 91.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2021D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2021. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2021 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1294

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1215

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 94.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2020D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2020. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2020 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1199

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1142

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 95.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2019D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2019. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2019 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1276

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1217

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 95.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2018D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2018. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2018 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1124

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1074

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 96.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Read the population and cohort definitions →

NCES-derived bachelor-cohort graduation percentages

Historical full-time, first-time bachelor's or equivalent entry subcohorts, with revised-cohort adjustments and permitted exclusions. These percentages describe a defined cohort rather than all students, annual awards or an individual's outcome.

Entry cohortSource observation file yearWithin 4 yearsWithin 5 yearsWithin 6 years
2018202484%89%90%
2017202383%88%88%
2016202282%88%89%
2015202181%86%87%

NCES defines the selected 4-, 5- and 6-year measures for the same bachelor-seeking entry subcohort. The six-year measure is labelled 150% of normal time in the connected definitions. It does not establish the duration of your current programme.

Percentages are retained from the NCES derived file and are not recalculated here. The selected file supplies no per-cell reporting/imputation flags; the parent/child allocation status is outside this connection. Some derived campus values may use parent allocation factors. The linked dictionary's generic “Provisional/Final” heading does not distinguish a release stage for this snapshot.

Source evidence for file year 2024

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-14 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2023

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2022

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2021

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Distinguish cohort rates from retention and annual awards → · Review source populations →

How to read graduation cohorts and completion windows →

About this record

Source: NCES Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, HD2025 institution directory. Download the source dataset.

Record reviewed: 2026-10-13 UTC. Directory year is not the current application year. “Four-year” describes an institution classification; it does not mean every program lasts four years.

Costs, admissions and completion records come from separate historical datasets with their own years. Current language requirements and deadlines must be verified with the institution.

More institutions in MA