cvCollegeVerse.
English ⌄
Interface languageLanguage
Source text keeps its original language.

Philadelphia, PA

University of Pennsylvania

View comparison (0) →

University of Pennsylvania is a private nonprofit institution located in Philadelphia, PA. Use its official resources to confirm whether its programs match your study plans.

Institution at a glance

Location
Philadelphia, PA
Institution type
Private nonprofit
Institution level
Four-year
IPEDS institution ID
215062
Directory data year
2025

Plan your next step

Check the institution’s current course list, applicant categories, fees and deadlines before building your shortlist.

Official institution website ↗

Official admissions resources ↗

Build a budget from this cost record →

How to compare your full study budget →

Prepare your application checklist →

Published undergraduate tuition and fees

Full-time, first-time undergraduate charge basis · Academic year 2024-25 · US dollars · tuition and required fees, not total cost of attendance.

In-state$68,686
Out-of-state$68,686
Books and supplies$1,358

State residency rules determine eligibility. Out-of-state charges are not a verified international-student quote. Housing, meals, insurance, travel and other expenses are additional; aid is not deducted.

Academic yearIn-stateOut-of-stateBooks
2024-25$68,686$68,686$1,358
2023-24$66,104$66,104$1,358
2022-23$63,452$63,452$1,358
2021-22$61,710$61,710$1,358
2020-21$60,042$60,042$1,358
2019-20$57,770$57,770$1,358
2018-19$55,584$55,584$1,318
2017-18$53,534$53,534$1,280
2016-17$51,464$51,464$1,280

Change from the previous academic year

In-state tuition and fees: increased by $2,582 (3.9%), compared with 2023-24.

Out-of-state tuition and fees: increased by $2,582 (3.9%), compared with 2023-24.

This compares published tuition and required fees in adjacent reporting years. It does not measure changes in your aid package, net price or full living budget.

Source fields and reporting flags

books: CHG4AY3 · flag R
in_state: CHG2AY3 · flag R
out_of_state: CHG3AY3 · flag R

Source: IPEDS published cost dataset. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reported, imputed and carried-forward values retain their source flags. Read our data methodology →

Historical undergraduate admissions

Fall 2024 · first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduate applicants.

Applicants65,226
Admitted3,523
Admission rate5.4%

Reported enrolled first-time undergraduates: 2,395.

Compare reported admission years

These first-time undergraduate populations are separate reporting periods. Admission rate is admitted ÷ applicants; enrollment yield is enrolled ÷ admitted. Neither percentage is an individual admission probability.

Fall yearApplicantsAdmittedEnrolledAdmission rateEnrollment yield
202465,2263,5232,3955.4%68.0%
202359,4653,4892,4165.9%69.2%
202254,5883,5492,4096.5%67.9%
202156,3323,3042,4185.9%73.2%
202042,2053,7892,3219.0%61.3%
201944,9613,4462,4007.7%69.6%
201844,4913,7402,5188.4%67.3%

Calculated as admitted ÷ applicants. This institution-wide historical figure is not a personal admission probability, international-student rate, transfer rate or program-specific rate. Open-admission institutions may not report this survey.

SAT evidence-based reading/writing 25th–75th percentile: 740–770. These describe enrolled students who submitted scores, not minimum entry requirements.

SAT math 25th–75th percentile: 770–800. These also describe enrolled score submitters and are not minimum entry requirements.

Source: IPEDS ADM2024. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Verify current test policies with the institution.

Fields with reported graduates

Historical IPEDS completions, first major. Reporting years are labeled per record. Verify current program availability and degree names on the institution’s website.

Field of studyAward levelYear endingCompletions
Computer and Information Sciences, General.Master degree2025776
Financial Analytics.Bachelor degree2025354
Financial Analytics.Master degree2025348
Law.Doctorate — professional practice2025251
Entrepreneurship/Entrepreneurial Studies.Master degree2025217
Business Administration and Management, General.Master degree2025213
Dentistry.Doctorate — professional practice2025202
Computer Science.Master degree2025196
Registered Nursing/Registered Nurse.Bachelor degree2025191
Philosophy, Other.Bachelor degree2025183
Architectural and Building Sciences/Technology.Master degree2025182
Advanced Legal Research/Studies, General.Master degree2025180
Social Work.Master degree2025180
Electrical and Electronics Engineering.Master degree2025160
Biology/Biological Sciences, General.Bachelor degree2025158

Showing 15 of 394 reported field/award records. View all records →

Published first-year retention

Connected EF part-D observations concern prior-fall first-time degree/certificate-seeking cohorts assessed a year later. NCES describes persistence or completion; four-year institutions' cohorts are bachelor-seeking. Entry study status remains the grouping even if a student later changes between full- and part-time.

Entry cohort → assessmentFull-time source rateAdjusted full-time cohortPart-time source rateAdjusted part-time cohort
Fall 2023 → 202499% · R2,415Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2022 → 202398% · R2,415Not reported · ANot reported
Fall 2021 → 202298% · R2,33593% · R61
Fall 2020 → 202198% · R2,28194% · R31
Fall 2019 → 202095% · R2,33794% · R48
Fall 2018 → 201998% · R2,45392% · R53
Fall 2017 → 201898% · R2,40789% · R37

Percentages are retained from the source rather than recalculated. R means reported; P means carried forward. Other source flags remain in the evidence. Missing rates remain unavailable and a published 0% remains zero. These are institution-level historical observations, not programme graduation rates, current service-quality rankings or individual predictions.

Official EF2024D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2024. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2024 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2415

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2388

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 99.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2023D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2023. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2023 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2415

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2369

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 98.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag A · value not reported

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag A · value not reported

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2022D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2022. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2022 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2335

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2297

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 98.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 61

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 57

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 93.0

Official EF2021D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2021. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2021 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2281

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2228

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 98.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 31

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 29

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 94.0

Official EF2020D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2020. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2020 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2337

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2220

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 95.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 48

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 45

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 94.0

Official EF2019D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2019. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2019 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2453

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2406

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 98.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 53

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 49

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 92.0

Official EF2018D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2018. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2018 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 2407

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 2367

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 98.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 37

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 33

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 89.0

Read the population and cohort definitions →

NCES-derived bachelor-cohort graduation percentages

Historical full-time, first-time bachelor's or equivalent entry subcohorts, with revised-cohort adjustments and permitted exclusions. These percentages describe a defined cohort rather than all students, annual awards or an individual's outcome.

Entry cohortSource observation file yearWithin 4 yearsWithin 5 yearsWithin 6 years
2018202486%95%97%
2017202388%96%97%
2016202288%95%96%
2015202189%95%96%

NCES defines the selected 4-, 5- and 6-year measures for the same bachelor-seeking entry subcohort. The six-year measure is labelled 150% of normal time in the connected definitions. It does not establish the duration of your current programme.

Percentages are retained from the NCES derived file and are not recalculated here. The selected file supplies no per-cell reporting/imputation flags; the parent/child allocation status is outside this connection. Some derived campus values may use parent allocation factors. The linked dictionary's generic “Provisional/Final” heading does not distinguish a release stage for this snapshot.

Source evidence for file year 2024

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-14 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2023

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2022

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2021

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Distinguish cohort rates from retention and annual awards → · Review source populations →

How to read graduation cohorts and completion windows →

About this record

Source: NCES Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, HD2025 institution directory. Download the source dataset.

Record reviewed: 2026-10-13 UTC. Directory year is not the current application year. “Four-year” describes an institution classification; it does not mean every program lasts four years.

Costs, admissions and completion records come from separate historical datasets with their own years. Current language requirements and deadlines must be verified with the institution.

More institutions in PA