cvCollegeVerse.
English ⌄
Interface languageLanguage
Source text keeps its original language.

Pittsburgh, PA

Carnegie Mellon University

View comparison (0) →

Carnegie Mellon University is a private nonprofit institution located in Pittsburgh, PA. Use its official resources to confirm whether its programs match your study plans.

Institution at a glance

Location
Pittsburgh, PA
Institution type
Private nonprofit
Institution level
Four-year
IPEDS institution ID
211440
Directory data year
2025

Plan your next step

Check the institution’s current course list, applicant categories, fees and deadlines before building your shortlist.

Official institution website ↗

Official admissions resources ↗

Build a budget from this cost record →

How to compare your full study budget →

Prepare your application checklist →

Published undergraduate tuition and fees

Full-time, first-time undergraduate charge basis · Academic year 2024-25 · US dollars · tuition and required fees, not total cost of attendance.

In-state$66,246
Out-of-state$66,246
Books and supplies$1,000

State residency rules determine eligibility. Out-of-state charges are not a verified international-student quote. Housing, meals, insurance, travel and other expenses are additional; aid is not deducted.

Academic yearIn-stateOut-of-stateBooks
2024-25$66,246$66,246$1,000
2023-24$63,829$63,829$1,000
2022-23$61,344$61,344$1,000
2021-22$58,924$58,924$1,000
2020-21$58,924$58,924$1,000
2019-20$57,119$57,119$1,000
2018-19$55,465$55,465$1,000
2017-18$53,910$53,910$1,000
2016-17$52,310$52,310$1,000

Change from the previous academic year

In-state tuition and fees: increased by $2,417 (3.8%), compared with 2023-24.

Out-of-state tuition and fees: increased by $2,417 (3.8%), compared with 2023-24.

This compares published tuition and required fees in adjacent reporting years. It does not measure changes in your aid package, net price or full living budget.

Source fields and reporting flags

books: CHG4AY3 · flag R
in_state: CHG2AY3 · flag R
out_of_state: CHG3AY3 · flag R

Source: IPEDS published cost dataset. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reported, imputed and carried-forward values retain their source flags. Read our data methodology →

Historical undergraduate admissions

Fall 2024 · first-time degree/certificate-seeking undergraduate applicants.

Applicants33,941
Admitted3,959
Admission rate11.7%

Reported enrolled first-time undergraduates: 1,808.

Compare reported admission years

These first-time undergraduate populations are separate reporting periods. Admission rate is admitted ÷ applicants; enrollment yield is enrolled ÷ admitted. Neither percentage is an individual admission probability.

Fall yearApplicantsAdmittedEnrolledAdmission rateEnrollment yield
202433,9413,9591,80811.7%45.7%
202333,7073,8431,70811.4%44.4%
202234,2613,8731,71611.3%44.3%
202132,8964,4531,89613.5%42.6%
202026,1894,5241,63717.3%36.2%
201927,6344,2671,58515.4%37.1%
201824,3514,1701,57217.1%37.7%

Calculated as admitted ÷ applicants. This institution-wide historical figure is not a personal admission probability, international-student rate, transfer rate or program-specific rate. Open-admission institutions may not report this survey.

SAT evidence-based reading/writing 25th–75th percentile: 730–770. These describe enrolled students who submitted scores, not minimum entry requirements.

SAT math 25th–75th percentile: 770–800. These also describe enrolled score submitters and are not minimum entry requirements.

Source: IPEDS ADM2024. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Verify current test policies with the institution.

Fields with reported graduates

Historical IPEDS completions, first major. Reporting years are labeled per record. Verify current program availability and degree names on the institution’s website.

Field of studyAward levelYear endingCompletions
Information Technology.Master degree2025703
Electrical and Electronics Engineering.Master degree2025374
Management Science.Master degree2025297
Computer Science.Bachelor degree2025280
Electrical and Electronics Engineering.Bachelor degree2025247
Computer Software Engineering.Master degree2025227
Business Administration and Management, General.Bachelor degree2025191
Mechanical Engineering.Master degree2025185
Artificial Intelligence.Master degree2025151
Statistics, General.Bachelor degree2025126
Systems Science and Theory.Bachelor degree2025124
Public Policy Analysis, General.Master degree2023117
Computer and Information Systems Security/Auditing/Information Assurance.Master degree2025114
Mechatronics, Robotics, and Automation Engineering.Master degree2025106
Mechanical Engineering.Bachelor degree2025105

Showing 15 of 260 reported field/award records. View all records →

Published first-year retention

Connected EF part-D observations concern prior-fall first-time degree/certificate-seeking cohorts assessed a year later. NCES describes persistence or completion; four-year institutions' cohorts are bachelor-seeking. Entry study status remains the grouping even if a student later changes between full- and part-time.

Entry cohort → assessmentFull-time source rateAdjusted full-time cohortPart-time source rateAdjusted part-time cohort
Fall 2023 → 202498% · R1,700Not reported · A0
Fall 2022 → 202397% · R1,706Not reported · A0
Fall 2021 → 202297% · R1,890Not reported · A0
Fall 2020 → 202197% · R1,626100% · R5
Fall 2019 → 202096% · R1,571Not reported · A0
Fall 2018 → 201997% · R1,567Not reported · A0
Fall 2017 → 201897% · R1,667Not reported · A0

Percentages are retained from the source rather than recalculated. R means reported; P means carried forward. Other source flags remain in the evidence. Missing rates remain unavailable and a published 0% remains zero. These are institution-level historical observations, not programme graduation rates, current service-quality rankings or individual predictions.

Official EF2024D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2024. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2024 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1700

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1666

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 98.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 0

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 0

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2023D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2023. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2023 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1706

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1655

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 97.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 0

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 0

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2022D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2022. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2022 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1890

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1839

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 97.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 0

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 0

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2021D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2021. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2021 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1626

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1583

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 97.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 5

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 5

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag R · value 100.0

Official EF2020D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-16 UTC. Reporting year remains 2020. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2020 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1571

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1502

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 96.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 0

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 0

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2019D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2019. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2019 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1567

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1525

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 97.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 0

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 0

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Official EF2018D dataset ↗ · checked 2026-10-17 UTC. Reporting year remains 2018. Dictionary release label at this observation: provisional.

Fall 2018 source fields and flags

full time adjusted cohort · RRFTCTA · flag R · value 1667

full time enrolled later · RET_NMF · flag R · value 1612

full time rate · RET_PCF · flag R · value 97.0

part time adjusted cohort · RRPTCTA · flag R · value 0

part time enrolled later · RET_NMP · flag R · value 0

part time rate · RET_PCP · flag A · value not reported

Read the population and cohort definitions →

NCES-derived bachelor-cohort graduation percentages

Historical full-time, first-time bachelor's or equivalent entry subcohorts, with revised-cohort adjustments and permitted exclusions. These percentages describe a defined cohort rather than all students, annual awards or an individual's outcome.

Entry cohortSource observation file yearWithin 4 yearsWithin 5 yearsWithin 6 years
2018202481%92%94%
2017202379%91%93%
2016202276%89%92%
2015202179%90%93%

NCES defines the selected 4-, 5- and 6-year measures for the same bachelor-seeking entry subcohort. The six-year measure is labelled 150% of normal time in the connected definitions. It does not establish the duration of your current programme.

Percentages are retained from the NCES derived file and are not recalculated here. The selected file supplies no per-cell reporting/imputation flags; the parent/child allocation status is outside this connection. Some derived campus values may use parent allocation factors. The linked dictionary's generic “Provisional/Final” heading does not distinguish a release stage for this snapshot.

Source evidence for file year 2024

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-14 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2023

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2022

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Source evidence for file year 2021

Fields: GBA4RTT, GBA5RTT, GBA6RTT. Official NCES derived graduation file. Source checked 2026-10-16 UTC; retrieval date is not entry-cohort year. Source rate basis and missing values remain separate.

Associated official field definitions →

Distinguish cohort rates from retention and annual awards → · Review source populations →

How to read graduation cohorts and completion windows →

About this record

Source: NCES Integrated Postsecondary Education Data System, HD2025 institution directory. Download the source dataset.

Record reviewed: 2026-10-13 UTC. Directory year is not the current application year. “Four-year” describes an institution classification; it does not mean every program lasts four years.

Costs, admissions and completion records come from separate historical datasets with their own years. Current language requirements and deadlines must be verified with the institution.

More institutions in PA